Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
VICTOR_OGHIFOBI
Participant

How to simulate & virtualize Real life deployments

Hi everyone, I'm new to checkpoint & checkmate. How can we simulate real world deployments based on customer requirements in a lab... Or let me rephrase what examples of requirements do customers really want? I've seen a lot of tutorials on how to do this or that... But I would like to have a taste of the real world. For example real client requirements (in their own terminology). If I work for a company who supports company networks, what are the kind of tasks we would engage in.. Are there places I can search to see real world secanrio requirements from companies? Do we have such communities here on checkmate? Where real world-like projects are published to get a feel of real world company requirements and deployments. Thanks 

25 Replies
Mark_Mitchell
Advisor

Hi Victor,

I'm not exactly sure what you are asking for? 

However, I'm terms of virtualizing and creating a lab. You can download the Check Point iso's and delay these in various virtualization platforms. Hyper-V, VMware, etc. 

I often use VMware workstation for sending.basic scenario testing. But there are limitations with VMware workstation. 

You can also run SmartConsole in demo mode to demonstrate the console to a new client. 

There was been various posts of specific deployments, but these are generally issue based to ask the community to aid with issue resolution.

If you are completely new to Check Point and would recommend running through the below resources initially. There is also a wealth of information in the admin guides.

https://community.checkpoint.com/thread/9695-welcome-to-check-point-for-beginners 

I guess if you have your own scenario that you would like us to assist with we can certainly advise. 

Regards

Mark

HeikoAnkenbrand
Champion Champion
Champion

- Use VMWare ESX or Workstation for GAIA installation.