cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ron_N
Explorer

encryption failure: Ike version: ikev2 not supported for peer

Hi,

I'm trying to setup a Site-to-Site connection between Azure VPN and Checkpoint vSec (R77.30) on AWS.

I was able to setup a connection using Azure Basic gateway with IKEv1.

Now I'm trying to setup between Azure VPN (High Performance) gateway and Checkpoint vSec (R77.30).

High Performance gateway uses IKEv2 and have applied the following IKE policy on Azure Gateway.

Phase 1: AES256, SHA384, DH14, SA 28800

Phase 2: AES256, SHA256, PFS2048, SA 3600

I'm getting the error: encryption failure: Ike version: ikev2 not supported for peer

I'm new to checkpoint. Would be great if someone could tell me what the error means and if IKEv2 is even supported for the above Phase 1 and 2 parameters.

Thanks

Ron

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Danny
Champion Champion
Champion

I'd recommend the following VPN configuration within Check Point for initial testing:

As Phase 1 SA Lifetime is expressed by Check Point in minutes, while the Phase 2 SA Lifetime is expressed in seconds please make sure to enter 480 min (28800 sec).

If that doesn't help as well, please perform a IKE debug as described in sk112139 together with sk33327.

0 Kudos
Ron_N
Explorer

Hi Danny,

I'll give your suggestions a try.

Thanks

Ron

0 Kudos
Ron_N
Explorer

Hi Danny, thanks for your suggestion, that got the VPN working.

Regards

Ron

0 Kudos
Danny
Champion Champion
Champion

Great. I updated our Site-to-Site VPN Compatibility Matrix accordingly.

0 Kudos
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion