Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
iko
Contributor
Jump to solution

Problem with HTTPS Inspection

Hi all,

I am new to Checkpoint, and I am having a hard time with the configuration of HTTPS Inspection.

Here my simple setup: I have a Security Gateway (R81) and Security Management Server installed on a VM with 2 interfaces (internal with hide NAT, and external). I have created the outbound certificate, and deployed it to the client, and enabled HTTPS Inspection.

Here are the HTTPS Inspection policies I use:

1.png

Browsing from the client works as expected, but browser still show the original certificate, not the one replaced from the gateway. Also the logs don't show anything:

2.png

In another post having the same problem, someone says "to enable https interception in the protocol tab", but I cannot find this option in any GUI. Is this what I am missing?

Anything else what I have possibly missed? Any help is highly appreciated.

Thank you, Iko

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
the_rock
Legend
Legend

Just an update for this post...we did remote sesison and determined that wstlsd process was running, so no issues with firewall or https inspection and what was missing was simply a rule in policy to block a test site category, so we simply blocked gambling as a test from LAN and were able to see blocked page with the right cert.

View solution in original post

21 Replies
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

I assume you have enabled HTTPS Inspection on the gateway/cluster object itself under HTTPS Inspection...Step 3.  Make sure that box is checked as you may have accidentally canceled out of that screen.

For object "Internet" to be applied properly in your HTTPS Inspection policy, you need to ensure that your network topology is completely and correctly defined under Network Management on your gateway/cluster object, specifically that the external interface is properly defined.