Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Vanesa_Benito_O
Contributor

Working with Security Zones (internal and local zones)

Hi!

I hope someone can help me to resolve a little doubt

This is my first time working with security zones. Yesterday I performed a migration from Juniper to checkpoint.
So, I tryed to create the same security zone. During the intervention i have observed every policy create from the Zone A to the same Zone A doesnt match any sub-policy rules althrouh We have defined a sub-policy Any Any Allow.

when i take a look to the logs I have observed every traffic from one interface to the same interface are tagged with the security zones internal and local.

This is by design for any reason? This zones appear always when the traffic came from the one interface with destination the same interface?

Thank you!

13 Replies
Pedro_Espindola
Advisor

I think InternalZone to Local means it is coming from the internal zone to the gateway itself.

When you say sub-policy, do you mean inline layers?

It makes no sense to use inline layers with "from any to any" rules, unless it is the Clean Up rule. These rules should be more specific than the mother rule. They should include sources and destinations that are comprised inside the InternalZone or the InternalZone object itself.

Meital_Natanson
Employee
Employee

Hi,

If I understand correctly - you put the same security zone object in the source and destination column.

Which interfaces you connected to that object? only 1 interface (is it a span port interface)? Or more than 1 interface?

What is the traffic you expect to be matched on this rule? Is it traffic that comes and goes out from the interfaces you connected to the security zone object?

If the traffic, for example, only comes from the internal interface but directed to the GW it won't be matched on the rule you defined....