Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Charlie_Dobson
Contributor
Jump to solution

Application and URL filtering Report from last month

Hello all,

I am trying to run an application and URL filtering report from last month (which just happens to be "last year").  I specify a custom date range of 12/1/2018 to 12/15/2018 with this query: 

product:("Application Control" OR "URL Filtering") AND NOT action:"Redirect" AND type:("Log" OR "Alert" OR "Session") AND NOT app_category:"Network Protocols" AND user:"username (logonname)" AND ("username")

Where "username" and "logonname" are replaced with the appropriate AD attributes, however I do not get any data in the report.  If I change the date range to 12/15/2018 to 12/31/2018 I get the same result.  However, if I change the date range to 1/1/2019 through 1/8/2019, I get a populated report.

Our Check Point admin left about 5 months ago and I'm still learning all of this, so please bear in mind that I'm still new to all of this.

Is there something I need to do to get the data from last month?  Is it automatically archived off into an older database?  Is there a process that archives off previous years automatically?

I am using the R80.10 SmartConsole for viewing reports.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

Yes, removing index files will affect reporting and the ability to search logs.

Recommend this SK: How to run SmartEvent Offline Jobs for multiple log files 

And also this thread: https://community.checkpoint.com/thread/6624-smartlog-only-look-back-14-days-how-to-reindex-90-days-... 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

If you look for logs from that timeframe, are they found?

0 Kudos
Charlie_Dobson
Contributor

Where do I check?

0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

In Logs and Monitor (or SmartView).
Go to the Logs tab and click on the clock in the search bar.

Pull down "Custom" and specify the desired timeframe.