cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Andy1977
Explorer
Jump to solution

VPN link selection with multiple ISP on different cluster members

I'm new to Checkpoint gateway and see if someone could help to answer the below questions. Much appreciated.

Site A has a pair of gateways that formed a simple active-standby Cluster. Each gateway member has its own ISP internet connection. Only 1 internal network interface was formed HA. So the Cluster topology will look like this:

LAN1: 192.168.1.1 (Cluster VIP)
LAN2: Sync port
WAN1: 10.10.10.1 (ISP1, External, monitored private, on cluster member 1)
WAN2: 172.10.10.1 (ISP2, External, monitored private, on cluster member 2)

A star VPN community was created with standard settings to a peer firewall gateway, tunnels are permanent.

In peer gateway, an Externally Managed Checkpoint Gateway object was created for Site A and topology was defined properly. Since Site A cluster has two internet connections, in IPSec VPN > Link Selection, I selected use probing link redudancy mode in HA mode. The two IP addresses 10.10.10.1 and 172.10.10.1 are keep ongoing probing. And in Link Selection > Source IP Address Settings, it use default Automatic.

After the setup, VPN tunnels are up and all connections looks fine. But there is always 3-4 PING lost in around every 1,000 PINGS.

Q1: I found there are packet named tunnel_test from peer gateway send to Site A cluster, I believe these are packets for probing. But I didn't see Site A cluster receive any these traffic. Instead, Site A cluster drops a number of UDP 17 packets. May I know what are these UDP 17 packets for?

Q2: In Link Selection > Source IP Address Settings, should I use default Automatic or Manual > IP addresses of chosen interface when the peer cluster has two external IPs but each on different cluster member?