cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Vandana_Dubey
Explorer
Jump to solution

Read only / write mode switching in R80

Hi I am missing for restart in read only or write button in R80 that was in previous version. Can anyone help me about that? Sorry if I am repeating the question. I am new to checkmates.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Tomer_Sole
Mentor
Mentor

Hi Vandana, I also want to offer an alternative. The R7x SmartDashboard best practice of connecting with read-only and switching to write mode once the other admins have left, may not be as important in R80 and above.

With the new option of having multiple administrators writing at the same time, you may just connect with read-write permissions all the time. As long as you haven't published your changes, no one will be affected.

What do you think?

View solution in original post

10 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

There is no button to do this in R80 SmartConsole. However, it is possible to launch a second instance of SmartConsole from the same PC in Read Only mode (i.e. just launch SmartConsole again from the Start Menu).

Vandana_Dubey
Explorer

Oh !!! Thank you so much to confirm

0 Kudos
Tomer_Sole
Mentor
Mentor

Hi Vandana, I also want to offer an alternative. The R7x SmartDashboard best practice of connecting with read-only and switching to write mode once the other admins have left, may not be as important in R80 and above.

With the new option of having multiple administrators writing at the same time, you may just connect with read-write permissions all the time. As long as you haven't published your changes, no one will be affected.

What do you think?

Daniel_Morin
Participant

Although I agree being in read-only mode isn't important to avoid admin contention, it is generally best practice with network management to remain in read-only mode so you can't make changes accidentally.