Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Eran_Habad
Employee
Employee

Management JHF - Did You Know?

Hi everyone,

My name is @Eran_Habad and I’m a manager in Check Point’s R&D. My group is responsible for the core I/S and APIs of the Management Server.

Following several recent conversations with customers, I would like to provide some information and shatter few myths regarding the JHF of the Management:

1. A new take of the JHF is usually released every few weeks (ideally) with a list of fixes that can be seen in the JHF SK according to the relevant version: R80.10, R80.20, R80.30, R80.40.
  2. Every new JHF take is first released as Ongoing for early adoption, and later becomes recommended for General Availability. You can find all information in the JHF SK.
  3. You can install a new JHF on the Management Server regardless of the Gateway. There’s no requirement to align the Management and Gateway to use the same JHF take.
  4. However, we do require all Management machines to have the same JHF take.
  5. There is a JHF package for the SmartConsole as well, yet there’s no dependency between the Management Server and the SmartConole. You can use a different take of the JHF for each.
  6. Installing a JHF is not a Management upgrade! The installation of a JHF on the Management is simple, doesn’t perform any changes in DB and is only replacing specific binaries with new fixes.
  7. We strongly recommend that our customers install the latest recommended GA JHF on a regular basis, even without the need for a specific fix. The reason is that the JHF accumulates fixes for known issues that could be prevented upfront if installed.

I’m also tagging @Tomer_Noy, R&D Director of Management Products and @Miri_Ofir, R&D Group Manager responsible for Customer Success & CFG.

All of us would be happy to answer any further questions regarding the Management JHF and to get ideas for improving the JHF adoption and installation.

Regards, Eran

6 Replies
PhoneBoy