Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Carlos_Silva
Explorer

Package processing

Hello friends, can anyone help me understand the flow of packets in the gateway?
I'm studying on the subject.

Objectively, what happens at each stage?
I inserted numbers to facilitate.

Thank You.
0 Kudos
11 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

Most everything is explained here:

R80.x Security Gateway Architecture (Logical Packet Flow)

0 Kudos
HeikoAnkenbrand
Champion Champion
Champion

Hi Carlos,

Your drawing must have been hard work. Thanks for that!  But I think we should not confuse the users with too many different flowcharts.

I've been trying for a long time to create a reasonable overview R80.x Security Gateway Architecture (Logical Packet Flow) . Here Valeri Loukine  from Check Point supported me very well in backround and we tried to find an error-free flow. That was hard work and thanks again to Valeri Loukine, Dameon and Moti.

History:

09-27-2017 - Moti. published the original article for R77.x:

Checkmates: Check Point Threat Prevention Packet Flow and Architecture 

07-29-2018 - I tried to write a new article for R80.x and Valeri Loukine supported me.

R80.x Security Gateway Architecture (Logical Packet Flow)

08-06-2018 - Valeri Loukine has reworked the original article for R80.x by Moti.:

Security Gateway Packet Flow and Acceleration - with Diagrams 

And here are the references to the other sources for the flowchart:

SecureKnowledge: Best Practices - Security Gateway Performance 

Download Center: R80.10 Next Generation Threat Prevention Platforms

Download Center: R77 Security Gateway Packet Flow

Download Center: R77 Security Gateway Architecture

Support Center: Check Point Security Gateway Architecture and Packet Flow 

Checkmates: Check Point Threat Prevention Packet Flow and Architecture 

Checkmates: fw monitor inspection point e or E 

Checkmates: Infinity NGTP architecture