cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vaibhav_Parleka
Participant

Can we add 8 virtual cores in vSEC for ESXi

Hi, 

I am new to virtual security solutions. I went through the below link which provides information about the cores required and shows support upto 6 virtual cores. just wanted to check with experts here can we add 8 virtual cores and get more performance if required. is it a supported configuration?

https://www.checkpoint.com/products/iaas-private-cloud-security/  

please advise thanks in advance

Vaibhav

9 Replies
Danny
Champion Champion
Champion

vSEC/CloudGuard Gateway supports up to 8 virtual cores.

ATRG: vSEC / CloudGuard for VMware NSX

0 Kudos
Marcos_Vieira
Contributor

Sorry. I couldn´t find this information in sk111060, the link you sent. 

0 Kudos
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

0 Kudos
Marcos_Vieira
Contributor

Hi,

The document shows the performance with 2, 4 or 8 cores, but says nothing about more cores (up to?). Does it support more vCPUs? Can I assume that the limit is defined by the Hypervisor and the Check Point license? Or there is a limitation not documented?

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

More than 8 might have non linear performance results and is uncommon but should work (up to 16).

Are you mapping and deploying dedicated hardware for this VM?

CCSM R77/R80/ELITE
0 Kudos
Marcos_Vieira
Contributor

Ok. Thanks for the information about the 16 virtual cores. I was just confirming the upper limit.

The end user is migrating some open servers to virtual ones. He was advised about reserving resources to the VMs.

0 Kudos
vaibhav_Parleka
Participant