Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mattias_Jansson
Contributor

VSX vsls - Active up vs Primary up

Jump to solution

Hi!

Im trying to find information about the new feature starting from R80.40:

  • Support for Active Up mode in VSLS.

I cannot find detailed information about this setting in the R80.40 VSX documentation except that the behaviour can be changed with: vsx_util vsls - 5. Toggle VSLS mode between Active Up and Primary Up"

Anyone who knows more about this or where I can find the information?


0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Kaspars_Zibarts
Authority
Authority

yeah, it was always a bummer during upgrades 🙂 or even regular restarts when you wanted to keep it on a specific cluster member, so you would always have to keep playing with vsx_util

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Kaspars_Zibarts
Authority
Authority

You're spot on - documentation does not exist to explain it 🙂

Wild guess: primary up would mean higher priority would always be active if it's available, whereas active up would keep current active member even though member with higher priority becomes available.

Or in more practical example, say if you are upgrading VSX1 that has higher priority then after upgrade VSX2 will remain active even it has lower priority. Just like regular cluster setting

 

image.png

Mattias_Jansson
Contributor

That was my guess too. The documentation says:

Failure Recovery

When the failed VSX Cluster Member or Virtual System comes back online, the system returns to its original Load Sharing configuration.

So that would be Primary Up mode, and Active Up (which is not mentioned) is that it stays on the current host.

0 Kudos
Mattias_Jansson
Contributor

Nice feature by the way! 🙂

 

0 Kudos
Kaspars_Zibarts
Authority
Authority

yeah, it was always a bummer during upgrades 🙂 or even regular restarts when you wanted to keep it on a specific cluster member, so you would always have to keep playing with vsx_util

0 Kudos
Kaspars_Zibarts
Authority
Authority

A small but important update! We tried it in production.. please remember to book an outage window if you are switching modes! As this is what happened 😲😱

image.png

First you will be asked to use option "6" after changing modes which does not make sense  at all:

image.png

But then menu structure changes from 8 items to 9 and option "6" actually makes sense:

image.png

Now! Running it will cause multiple VS failovers and eventually all VSes will go down briefly as shown in the first screenshot