Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gryzz
Explorer
Jump to solution

Correct way to use VPN communities in Access policy

Hello to everyone, 

I am trying to understand the logic behind access rules and VPN communities.

I have an example ruleset what regulates traffic between internet / ipsec tunnel / Local VLAN-s

NameSourceDestinationVPNServicesAction
users_to_inetuser_addressInternet*Any *Any *Accept
users_to_ipsecuser_addressipsec_addressipsec_comAny * Accept
users_to_local

user_address

ssl_vpn_address

local_servicesAny*Any*Accept
Cleanupany*any*any*any*Drop

I am experiencing an behaviour when traffic destinated to the IPSEC tunnel is going through the "users_to_inet" rule but not through "users_to_ipsec" rule. It seems that the first match is because of the VPN=>Any* but I have no knowledge yet to disable it if it is even possible.

I am experiencing an behaviour when traffic hits "users_to_local" rule the checkpoint tries to create a IPsec tunnel to the remote host , because that the rule has ssl_vpn_address" in the source. Even though the traffic is destinated to a neighbour VLAN and no tunnel should be used.

When moving the priority of the rules, then traffic in some cases are matched the correct rule but some other rules tend to try move through the higher priority ones.

I have read the administration manual, but I find the answers I was looking for.

Can someone please explain to me:

• What is the correct way to describe LAN => Internet rule that the VPN communities don't try to go through it.?
  • What is the correct way to describe VLAN => VLAN rules that the VPN communities don't try to go through it.?
  • How to disable the use of VPN Communities when creating VLAN => VLAN rules in the firewall.?
  • What is the correct way to prioritize rules when you have on-prem VLANS and remote IPSEC tunnels where you try to allow and forward traffic.
  • What is the logic behind the explanation and behaviour of the Checkpoint SGW?