Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
seanmc12
Contributor

Checkpoint R81.20 VPN Tunnels - mismatch of IKE ID setting (IKEv2)

ok, I'm not a beginner, but still pretty new.

I have 6 Firewalls, 1 3800 at each of our 4 remote sites and an HA pair of 6700s at our main office. Over the past couple of weeks, we have battled the same issue at each of our sites and this morning, are seeing the same dang issue at one of our remote sites.

We have 2 VPN tunnels, Pri and Sec, for each site. The tunnels will run fine for awhile and then out of the blue, 1 of the 2 tunnels will go down and disappear from my Tunnels and Monitoring view. ALL tunnels are using the same exact settings with exception to the IP addresses.

Same error each time at every location: mismatch of IKE ID setting (IKEv2)

Route based VPN Tunnel

Encryption is Prefer ikev2, support ikev1,

phase1

EA - AES-256

DI: SHA-256

DHG: Group 5

Phase 2:

EA: AES-256

DI: SHA256

DHG: Group 5

Tunnel Mgmt: Set perm tunnels - All tunnels in community

VPN Tunnel Sharing: One VPN Tunnel per Gateway Pair

Advanced:

IKE phase1 - 480 min

IPsec Phase2 : 3600 seconds

Properties: Disable NAT inside the VPN community

No other settings are set in the VPN community.

I have opened a half dozen or more cases with CP TAC, do trouble shooting each time and end with the same unknown result. After a bit of resetting on both sides, we are able to get the tunnels back up, but this is a massive friggin Oracle work stoppage every single time.

Anyone else seeing anything like this now or recently?

0 Kudos
9 Replies
the_rock
Legend
Legend

Is "keep ike SAs" enabled from global properties?

Best,

Andy

0 Kudos
CaseyB
Advisor

What happens if you set it to strictly IKEv2?

0 Kudos
the_rock
Legend
Legend

Thats an excellent point, missed that part...definitely could be an issue.

Best,

Andy

0 Kudos
seanmc12
Contributor