Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ibrown
Explorer
Jump to solution

Can you upgrade to VSX ?

Hello All,

I've never used VSX before, but have used ClusterXL. I've been tasked with bringing up a VSX cluster as we are consolidating licenses, and currently we are running physical open server installs of Gaia as a ClusterXL pair. Is there a way to convert this to VSX or is it solely from a clean install ?

I looked in the docs and the KB and either no-one has ever asked, or it's such a ridiculous question it does not need to be asked.

If the answer is no, I will have to find some new hardware.

Many thanks

Ian

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Wolfgang
Authority
Authority

@ibrown I recommend to start from scratch. We tried something similar and this ends up in a nightmare and endless debug sessions with TAC. After some discussions and a good migration plan we configured the VSX clusters from scratch, migrate the firewall instance and everything was fine. Without new hardware you‘ll need a longer maintenance schedule, with new hardware you can switch really smooth and fast. Be aware of the limitations of VSX. Have a look VSX supported features and check with your existing environment.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

The installation instructions suggest that this is configured from a scratch install of the gateway itself:
https://sc1.checkpoint.com/documents/R81.20/WebAdminGuides/EN/CP_R81.20_Installation_and_Upgrade_Gui... 
You might be able to do a vsx_util reconfigure AFTER resetting SIC on the gateways and creating the relevant objects in SmartConsole (the VSX specific objects) to reattach the gateways as VSX.
However, I have not tested this theory and would recommend setting this up in a lab (can use VMs for this) to verify it works.

the_rock
Legend
Legend

I agree with Phoneboy, but to be 100% sure, if you cant set this up in the lab, maybe get an official TAC confirmation. 

Kind regards,