Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Egenity
Contributor

Time to talk about the SmartConsole application

I think it's time to have an upfront and honest conversation about SmartConsole and its long standing bugs and quirks.   I am a long time consultant specializing in Check Point implementation, troubleshooting and management.  Needless to say, I spend a good portion of everyday on SmartConsole across multiple clients and varying backend versions/configurations.

This list of issues in SmartConsole describe the long standing behavior and bugs that have been present in the application since its debut release through the most recent R81.20 releases.  Basically, we are talking about these issues persisting for many years.  In the back of my mind, I always thought these issues were well known and looked forward to the next release curing things.  Never happened.

This post is not meant to be a session of complaints, but more designed to bring attention and credibility to the issues with the appropriate development team, in hope of resulting software fixes to better the product and make my life easier 😁 -- I believe these are issues experienced across the industry, and get shrugged off as "just the way it is".  Most of us veterans have just become accustomed, and keep moving forward.

After a lot of thought and note taking, I have boiled it down to 6 major items: