cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mark_Wheeler
Participant

VSX cluster fundamental question

Hi Folks

I am relatively new to VSX and i have a few question for my proper understanding. I only know clustering for ClusterXL or VRRP on gatways and form Management HA.

1. Can a VSX gateway (physical appliance) be clustered for HA (high availability)?

2. Can a VSX gateway (physical appliance) be clustered for LS (load sharing)?

3. Is it possible and does it even make sense to cluster virtual systems (virtual firewall on the vsx gateway) for HA on a VSX gateway or is this not necessary as both rely on the same hardware and would fail if the underlying hardware fails anyways?

4. Is it possible and does it even make sense to cluster virtual systems (virtual firewall on the vsx gateway) for LS on a VSX gateway or not?

5. Is it possible to cluster virtual systems over two or more VSX gateways (physical appliances)?

Can someone recommend a book or online course in order for me to learn VSX (and probably also MDS) in a structured way? You can also send me a PM in case recommendations are against the policy of this community.

I have booked a course few Weeks ago but it was canceled recently due to lack of attendants (not because of the Corona virus). Otherwise i would not bother you with my newbie questions 🙂

I am thankful for any helping answer,

Mark

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Wolfgang
Authority
Authority

Mark,

to your questions:

1. Can a VSX gateway (physical appliance) be clustered for HA (high availability)?

YES

2. Can a VSX gateway (physical appliance) be clustered for LS (load sharing)?

YES

3. Is it possible and does it even make sense to cluster virtual systems (virtual firewall on the vsx gateway) for HA on a VSX gateway or is this not necessary as both rely on the same hardware and would fail if the underlying hardware fails anyways?