T0r_Lak
Participant

Export security gateway items from MDS

Hi all!

Need to export from our MDS a compiled list of all of our firewalls including:

• hostnames
  • serial numbers
  • management IPs

This is so we can update our corporate infrastructure inventory.

A simple CSV export from MDS > Gateways & Servers outputs too much irrelevant and unstructured cell data and I'm no Excel expert, hence I was thinking more in terms of extracting that data from a central database hosted on the MDS and parse only those relevant fields mentioned above.

Could anyone advise if that might be possible via API calls or do I have to approach this directly via the GuiDBEdit.exe tool or maybe on Linux level to interact with the management database, please?

For starters - what's the Linux file path to the db holding such data, please?

Best regards.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Vincent_Bacher
Advisor
Advisor

Hi,

hostnames and main IPs (management IPs) can be exported using management API or Check Point module for Ansible.
However, serial numbers are not saved in the object and therefore no way to be exported from management.
Should look somewhat like this when mgmt_cli is used (can be wrong in syntax, cannot test atm)

mgmt_cli -r true show gateways-and-servers details-level full --format json | jq -r '.objects[] | select(.type == "simple-gateway" or .type == "CpmiClusterMember") | "\(.name),\(.ipv4-address)"'

For serial number, you might include a function in the script which performs ssh to the gateway to remotely issue the command "show asset all" and to extract the S/N from the line "Serial Number: *******" and to enrich your table using this.

If ssh to the gateway does not work, this would also work via cprid_util, which can send commands to the gateway via SIC.

Would not recommend to search for db files to snoop around in it 😉

best regards

and now to something completely different - CCVS, CCAS, CCTE, CCCS, CCSM elite
Bob_Zimmerman
Authority
Authority