Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alan_Camelo1
Contributor

VSEC - Deployment guide

Hi All, I have a lot of experience deploying Checkpoint HA Clusters in traditional DC's but have recently been tasked with setting up Checkpoint VPN and Checkpoint Firewalls in an Azure environment. Is it similar to running cpconfig - setup SIC - attach license - download policy etc? if not is there a guide on how to do this using a provider-1 environment then setting up SIC with the Gateways? 

Apologies but I'm totally new to VSEC and wanted a brief explanation on how you do this, from what I see you manage the cluster objects in exactly the same way, can anyone help?

Many Thanks in advance

Alan

10 Replies
Vladimir
Champion
Champion

Alan,

Please check the Deploying a Check Point Cluster in Microsoft Azure for details. I've done quite a few AWS vSEC deployments, but didn't get my hands on Azure yet.

0 Kudos
John_Parnell
Participant

Alan,

You can follow sk110194 to deploy a cluster in Azure.

The short short description.

Define a vNet

Define a Frontend Subnet within the vNet

Define a Backend Subnet within the vNet

Deploy CheckPoint vSec Cluster from the marketplace

Follow the steps to deploy. This will take about 10 minutes once you complete all the steps.

Enable vSec on the management server via CLI. Command is vsec on

Create a new cluster object in your domain. Use the public IP created for the cluster as the cluster IP

Add each object to the cluster

Set both interfaces as sync only

You will need to create a service principal that has contributor rights

Run the command azure-ha-conf --client-id (with client-id from the service principal here) --client-secret (with the key created when you created the service principal here) This needs to be done on each firewall in the cluster.

Run the command $FWDIR/scripts/azure-ha-cli.py reconf This also needs to be done on each firewall in the cluster