Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sandgirl
Contributor
Jump to solution

BGP advice

Hi guys, 

Let me start with saying I have very little experience with Checkpoints - only few weeks, so please bear that in mind 🙂 

I'm trying to establish a BGP connectivity between our two Checkpoints in Azure (CloudGuard) and the Azure Route Server (ARS). 

I have two setups: 

One is the Checkpoint Server Manager and ARS. 

The other one is Checkpoint Firewall and ARS. 

In the first instance, I can see on Checkpoint (CLI) that there is a two way communication: SYN, SYN ACK, ACK (but also F, P and R). But the neighbourhood is not estaliblished - the peers show on Checkpoint SM as either 'active' or 'idle'. 

With the second setup, I can only see traffic (in CLI) coming from ARS. Checkpoint does not respond at all. I have set up ASN in the GUI and peers, but there is absolutely no response. Is there any other setting somewhere I need to enable/setup? 

Finally, the above setups are just in my lab. When we deploy the solution, the Checkpoints will be behind Azure Load Balancer. Is this supported? I have read somewhere on here that it might not be? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
34 Replies
Sandgirl
Contributor

Hi Luke,

azcpgw1> show configuration bgp
set bgp external remote-as xxxxx on
set bgp external remote-as xxxxxpeer y.y.y.y on
set bgp external remote-as xxxxx peer y.y.y.y multihop on
set bgp external remote-as xxxxxpeer y.y.y.y on
set bgp external remote-as xxxxx peer y.y.y.y multihop on

When adding BGP peer, make sure that you tick the 'eBGP multihop' in the 'Next Hop Time to Live' (I found this in the documentation on setting up BGP with VPN gateway). 

Regards,
Sandgirl

0 Kudos
Sandgirl
Contributor

When I've done the capture not limiting port to 179, I got another capture. 

I've uploaded the second capture. 

0 Kudos
Blason_R
Leader
Leader