cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

Management API Best Practices TechTalk and Q&A

In this session, Ryan Darst talks about leveraging Check Point APIs for automation purposes. He lays out the best practices, gotchas, and will demonstrate some interesting automation cases. Content is available to CheckMates members who are signed in.

Scripts are attached to this message.

Excerpt of session video:

5 Replies
3edaabb5-9f84-4
Explorer

Very good session

0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

Here is an edited version of the questions asked during the TechTalk.

How to automate installing policy via script?

Using the install-policy API.

How do I show all packages from a specific DMS on an MDS, by using web API calls?

The API call is show-packages. You would login against the DMS you wish to see the specific policy packages.

I want to build a web interface for site admins to manage some basic task using API, but I'm not a professional developer. Is there any easy way/ tool to do this?

There are a couple examples of this on CheckMates you can hack. Couple examples:

Is it possible to use the API to change the tracking settings of firewall rules in bulk?

In general, yes, but the API will only work on one rule at a time.

You will have to write a script/program that iterates through each rule.

See also: API - SmartConsole CLi - usual script commands like error check, if then etc. 

If i use the mgmt-cli, what is the actual timeout for the session key? Can I change it?

The default timeout is 600 seconds (10 minutes) and is an activity timeout.

You can extend it by passing the session-timeout parameter to the login command/API call.

It seems like limit is not 500 if you define it manually. I was able to receive about 700 rules via API using limit=1000

The actual limit for each API call varies.