cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Edwin_Graham
Explorer

CLI Help

Hey everybody,

I am new to Checkpoint CLI and I want to organize and view certain things.

How would I be able to view all network objects, rules, etc?

I guess what commands would I use?

14 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

The answer is largely version dependent.

If your management is R80+, then I'd start with the mgmt_cli tool, documented here: Check Point - Management API reference 

If you're using R77.30 and earlier, then I'd start with the dbedit command, documented here: Command Line Interface R77 

I would also have a look through the Developers (Code Hub)‌ space, which has a lot of discussion on the API/CLI.

Manny_Mekala
Participant

Hi Dameon,

We are on R80+ for Mgmt and the Mgmt API reference you have pointed doesn't really help in listing all network objects...There is a limit on the number of items listed 0-500 ad even then the output doesnt list the objects and their members. it only displays the object names which we can export form smart console\object explorer anyways.

0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

Yes, the API has a limit to the number of items that can be output at once.

You would need to iterate with multiple API calls using the offset parameter to get the next 500 objects.

You also have to request the correct detail level in the API and correctly parse the output.

One example that exports various objects in CSV format: CLI API Example for exporting, importing, and deleting different objects using CSV files (v 00.29.02...

0 Kudos
Manny_Mekala
Participant

Thank you for the link... Unfortunately my current access is RO for all FW's we manage and cant get to expert mode to be able to execute those commands/scripts in the links shared. Will have to request our service provider for what i am after. 

0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

You can do this with the API, but you're going to have to make successive API calls, like I said.