Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Czar
Participant

Check Point for Beginners - Part 2 - Preparing the Lab

Thank you Val Loukine (and other admins) for his page CP4B. Really helpful.

I am new to Check Point. I changed company and will have to use this technology. In the past I used Cisco, Palo Alto, PfSense. 

In Part 2 the lab is discussed. I think I might be short in resources to make the lab :-(. I have a mini desktop with 
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8500T CPU @ 2.10GHz, 2112 MHz, 6 core('s) and 12GB ram. I don't have access to a nice ESXI environment with lots of ram and storage. Has someone else experience with a setup like mine using VMware Workstation and only 12GB of ram? 

Also I try to figure out what the comment of Vladimir means at the end of the page. Should I use Virtual Box instead of VMware Workstation?

Last question; I used GNS3 in the past for Cisco labs. Is this an even better option for a lab setup? 

6 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

You can definitely set up a similar environment in VMware Workstation or Virtual Box, either should work.
There is a minimum amount of RAM required to allocate to the different VMs.
I suspect you will see performance-related issues if you do not have enough physical RAM available.

While I know some folks have used GNS3, we have done no specific interoperability testing with it.
HUNT_LEE
Participant

Hi Czar,

I have used both GNS3 and EVE-NG in the past.

Would should work fine.

Cheers,

Hunt

_Val_
Admin
Admin

Yes, you should be fine with 12GB of RAM and a VIrtual Box environment. Allocate 4GB for each of Check Point machines though. Use your own laptop as a client instead of an additional virtual machine.

This year we want to build some cloud based labs one can request from CheckMates, but the project is only starting now. It will take some time to build it to completion.

Czar
Participant

Thanks for the fast replies.