Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tkerbe
Participant
Jump to solution

Virtual OVA deployed 81.20 cannot login

Hello,

I work for a very large enterprise and we are in the process of deploying (2) virtual gateways for a PoC in our environment. Our build team has deployed the OVAs on ESXi using what our CheckPoint SE gave us (ivory_main-631-991001385-GW.ova)

Please keep in mind I am very new to CheckPoint appliances and CheckPoint products. This OVA was deployed and I am able to access the CLI via vSphere web console for both VMs. I was prompted with a simple screen that has a banner displaying;"This system is for authorized use only". I utilized admin / admin and it displays; "Login incorrect", on both VMs.

• I have confirmed with my build team that they deployed the OVA as is and did not change any credentials in the process. Our SE has had us try a couple of different combos, with no luck.
  • Our SE is now deploying their own VM with the exact OVA to see if the same issue happens. 
  • These VMs are both configured with 192.168.1.1 so I cannot access the Gaia web UI.

Am I missing something crucial here? Seems like this should be a very simple step in the deployment. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Bob_Zimmerman
Authority
Authority

Were they built through a vCenter or directly on an ESXi host? The OVAs need you to set the password via the initial config on a vCenter, but that doesn't work directly on an ESXi host and you won't be able to log in.

You can always just download the ISO image, upload it to the ESXi host, and use it in a virtual optical drive to install the OS.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
(1)
7 Replies
Bob_Zimmerman
Authority
Authority

Were they built through a vCenter or directly on an ESXi host? The OVAs need you to set the password via the initial config on a vCenter, but that doesn't work directly on an ESXi host and you won't be able to log in.