Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fiq_c
Explorer

Delete Logs

We are planning to upgrade our Checkpoint devices to R81.10.

From R81.10 Release Notes its require free disk space for 20 GB in the root partition and 10 GB in the /var/log partition.

I found that our device don't have 10 GB free disk space in /var/log partition:

2022-08-03_115350.jpg

I found folder that consume 45GB in /var/log/opt/CPsuite-R77/fw1/log/:

2022-08-03_115946.jpg

There is a lot of old log files:

2022-08-03_133545.jpg

Exisiting version of the device is R80.10.

My question:

1. Is it safe to delete the log file with extension .log, logptr, logaccount_ptr and loginitial_ptr?

2. If I delete with command example: "rm 2019-08-23_002241_534.log" is it the correct way?

3. Is there negative impact to the device if I delete it?

I have been searching but not found the article (SK) about procedure to delete the files.

I'm quite new to CP world, please advice.

Thanks.

8 Replies
_Val_
Admin
Admin

Hi, there are quite a few discussions about this topic you can find in the community, and I believe your answers are all there.

Please start here: https://community.checkpoint.com/t5/Management/Howto-automatic-remove-log-entries-older-then-x-days-... and then let me know if you need any further assistance. 

0 Kudos
Tobias_Moritz
Advisor

Val, I think the key point here is, that this box is running R80.10 currently (yes, out of support) and these logs are in path /var/log/opt/CPsuite-R77/fw1/log/.

Looks that are left-overs from an old in-place upgrade from R77 to R80.

I would say, its save to manually deleted them. Any other options?

0 Kudos
_Val_
Admin
Admin

If they do not need those logs, then yes. It is hard to make a general recommendation here, without additional info. Do they need to keep the logs? What is the log rotation policy and audit requirements? I do not know.

If they feel they do not need those logs, sure, they all can be deleted.