Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LM-Rafael
Explorer
Jump to solution

Two basic questions

Hi all,

i have a Checkpoint 1550 and i use the webinterface for configuration my appliance. 

How do I know if I can connect them to the cloud to manage them centrally? So that I have the license?

Is there a possibility of advanced configuration? I read about Smartconsole but I can't get it installed and I can't connect to the appliance. What are the options here and how are they configured?

Sorry but i'm new to checkpoint.

Thanks

Rafael

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

By default a 1500 will come with a license for SMP which is cloud hosted and web based.

All other central management types requires a seperate license e.g. Smart-1 Cloud or NGSM (Azure/AWS etc) - These commonly use SmartConsole.

CCSM R77/R80/ELITE

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

By default a 1500 will come with a license for SMP which is cloud hosted and web based.

All other central management types requires a seperate license e.g. Smart-1 Cloud or NGSM (Azure/AWS etc) - These commonly use SmartConsole.

CCSM R77/R80/ELITE
the_rock
Legend
Legend

Agree with Chris, you can definitely manage it with smart-1 cloud instance, if thats what you are referring to. Otherwise, you still need a license, regardless if its cloud or on-prem management. In all honesty, I strongly recommend cloud instance, as if anyone makes a mistake inadvertently, you can make change on the portal from anywhere in the world to fix it.

One downside to it used to be support, as 2-3 years ago, TAC would usually have to contact R&D to fix any a bit more complicated issue with the cloud mgmt (as there is no ssh access to the customer), but now that clients do have ability to restart the instance themselves, it makes it much better, for sure.