Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Network_M
Collaborator

Upgrade R80.30 to R81.10

I'm planning upgrade from R80.30 to R81.10.

As it is first time for me, I am a beginner.

I read Upgrading Guide.

want shortly to share my steps of upgrading with you and take some advice from mates.

My structure: 2 Security gateways running as Active/Passive HA and 1 Management device.

Steps I am going to do:

1. Take snapshots and backups of all 3 devices and export them to my PC (Gui, browser).

2. Download package from CPUSE and install (upgrade) it on Management device.

3. After upgrading Management, install database and event policy.

4. Upgrade  CP2 passive Security gateway like in 2nd step.

5. Upgrade CP1 active Security gateway like in 2nd step.

6. Enter SmartConsole and change versions of OS to R81.10, push the policy.

Are these steps correct? Anyone can add something? Maybe I miss some points.

Thank you!

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

For greater context can you please share the JHF version and appliance model?

CCSM R77/R80/ELITE
0 Kudos
Network_M
Collaborator

Of course, JHF Take 237, CP SMART 1205 MGMT, CP 5100 Security Gateways.

0 Kudos
Chris_Atkinson
Employee Employee
Employee

Please note that the Smart-1 205 appliances can only be upgraded to R80.40 (RAM population may also be a consideration).

To move to R81+ you should discuss options with your local SE.

Refer: https://www.checkpoint.com/support-services/support-life-cycle-policy/

CCSM R77/R80/ELITE
Network_M
Collaborator

Thank you very much for the link.

On my gateways, cpuse shows fresh install of R81.10, but MGMT does not show, even if I check for updates.

I opened a case about that and support team offered me to import offline R81.10 fresh install package for MGMT.

I don't know how safe it is, but I am planning to check it.

0 Kudos
Gregory_Azratz
Employee
Employee

Hi,

Regarding the Management upgrade -