Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joeywoody
Participant
Jump to solution

Smartconsole cant connect to firewall in GNS3

Hi everyone,

I am new to Checkpoint software and firewalls and have been having a nightmare using smart console to connect to a firewall within GNS3, it worked fine at first but has since stopped connecting completely. I find this strange as i can ping the gateway from my PC and can also connect to gaia with no issues. The gateway shows that half the packets are dropped (although ive seen times where there was a higher % of packets dropped). Any help on the problem would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
the_rock
Legend
Legend

Just to give a quick update...Joe and I did remote session and after testing for a bit, we decided to do reinstall of R80.10 and it turned out that default gateway was mistyped, so once that was fixed and initial wizard done, we could ping google dns and dashboard also loaded fine.

View solution in original post

19 Replies
_Val_
Admin
Admin

There is no SmartConsole on a gateway. Do you mean WebUI?

joeywoody
Participant

I mean a gateway that is connected to the internet in GNS3, allowing me to connect to gaia and smartconsole outside of GNS3.

0 Kudos
_Val_
Admin
Admin

You do not connect to the gateways with SmartConsole. You use SmartConsole with your management server. Are you running a standalone config?

joeywoody
Participant

Sorry for the confusion, I assume im using a standalone config as I am only using the Checkpoint firewall r80.10? I have seen that the endpoint security management server isnt activated and wont be started when I run cpstart if thats any help.

0 Kudos
_Val_
Admin
Admin

Once again, I urge you to run through Check Point for Beginners materials available under Learn/Check Point for Beginners/network security in this forum, before doing anything else.