cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Di_Junior
Advisor
Advisor

Check Point 4200 Overload

Hi  Check Mates, I need your help with regards to one of my clients.

My client uses a 4200 appliance, and currently they are experiencing some problems with regards to traffic being slow.

The client has between 500 - 1000 users, their appliance has many policies and sometimes the appliance is overloaded.

They also have another 4200 appliance on a different site which is not in use, and they want to find a way on how they can balance traffic between these too appliance (I guess they need a cluster working in Load Balancing).

I would like to get your advice on how the problem can be approached. 

Will the clustering solutions solve the problem? taking into account the number of users?

Must they upgrade their appliance? 

Note: I am new to check point products, just starting my career

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Bernhard_Fuchs
Explorer

Hello,

I would at least check some at the policy.

There is a hit count on the left side of each rule. Take Rules with alot of hits and move them up in the policy.

Also IP-Ranges like 192.168.168.10-192.168.168.100 will have performance impact.

Also check, if the IPS is running, look for the signatures with critical impact and turn them off, if you can.

Best Regards,

Bernhard

0 Kudos
Di_Junior
Advisor
Advisor

Thanks for your help.
Would you kindly explain why that IP-range have performance impact?

0 Kudos
Bernhard_Fuchs1
Explorer

Every object that has a IP-Range set.

0 Kudos
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

Load sharing should not be employed to help underpowered firewalls perform acceptably.  The 4200 only has two cores and sounds a bit underpowered for what it is being asked to do.  However there may be some tuning possible to improve performance, please provide the output from the following commands run on the firewall, ideally when it is running slowly if possible:

fwaccel stat