Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FrederikSuijs
Explorer

AWS Autoscaling TGW deployment with DirectConnect and On-Prem Mgmt

Intro:

Hello,

this is my first post on Checkmates. As a quick intro, I'm an IT professional with 15y of experience with a focus on Datacenter Network Design, SDN, Cloud-Native networking, Automation,... you can find me on LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/frederik-suijs-1102b8127/
During the last year I have been working on a CloudGuard IAAS solution both on Azure and AWS based on the Checkpoint blueprint https://www.checkpoint.com/downloads/product-related/check-point-secure-cloud-blueprint.pdf I have followed the general architecture and built the Hub-Spoke model with an inbound ASG for Ingress traffic, and an outbound ASG for egress + East-West traffic. For the connectivity to our On-Prem DC, we rely 100% on DirectConnect, which is directly attached to the Transit Gateway. From a HL perspective, all connections to and from On-Prem workloads should be considered as East-West traffic, so effectively the On-Prem DC can be seen as another Spoke.
To deploy my Hub-Spoke model, I have modelled the complete setup into a couple of Terraform scripts so I can easily create and destroy this in just a matter of minutes ( and I have done so for 20+ times at least ).

I will try to write down some of the though processes and indirect problems I have encountered and hope I can help somebody else with this post. To get the most out of this, you should have some basic knowledge of the architecture and idea behind the blueprint, good knowledge of Checkpoint Gateways, good understanding of AWS networking constructs ( vpc, TGW, DX, ... ) and some basic scripting affinity.