cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aharihara
Contributor

Smart console - Operation timed out

Dear Checkmates,

I'm studying for CCSA R80 and I have a lab setup in GNS3. I have installed Windows 10 VM and I have Checkpoint R80.10_T479(trial) installed as SMS in GNS3VM. The trial period is still available. I have the conectivity between Windows PC and SMS. I can do ssh and can also access WebGUI, but when I access via SmartConsole, I get 'operation timed out' message most of the time. Then I would restart the nodes, lab and VM. Sometimes it helps, but most of the time it fails. Then once when I rebooted the SMS, I got a message in CLI that I must reboot in maintenance mode, which I did. I see the file system is corrupt and it asked me to fix and I gave 'y' numerous times and finally it looked like the corrupt files and entries were fixed.  Then the smart console was working for some time. Now the problem has started again. I don't know what to do now. Please guide me.

Thanks,

Hari

0 Kudos
11 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

How much RAM have you allocated to the VM for the SMS?
If it's anything less than 8GB, you'll probably have issues.
Also, R80.10 is a few years old, you should really be working with later releases.
0 Kudos
aharihara
Contributor

Thanks a lot for replying back. 😊

I guess your question of RAM answers my problem. I gave only 4GB, since I was running the lab in my laptop. 

I now gave 6GB and running both SMS and GW and it works just fine, but slow sometimes. I would take your suggestion and try increasing the RAM. Also I would try installing the newer version. 

One more question, probably should be in a different thread, but please guide me. Since I'm preparing for CCSA, will it  have questions about R80.40 too?

0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

The absolute bare minimum for an SMS (without GW) is 6GB, and even then, it can be fairly slow.
8GB for an SMS (without GW) should be ok in a small lab environment.