cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kryten
Collaborator

Identity Awareness - AD Query: strange behaviour

Hello,

I am currently investigating an issue one of our customers has wih AD-Query in Identity Awareness.
Initially the problem reported was occurences of "A secondary session request was received from the same IP. This caused logout of the current session", in combination with users complaining about access problems. They were getting the blockpage instead of access that should be allowed for this user or group. The customer suspects that these secondary session logouts are causing the problems.

After looking at the logs, I think the problem might be something else, but I can not make sense of it(yet). I am still fairly new to Check Point, so maybe I am missing something here.

Here is one example of events from the logs, where the problem occured last week:

08:01:12: machine authentication(AD Query)
connections from machine, no user yet: access denied
08:02:38: user authentication(AD Query)
connections: access allowed based on user/group rules, source username in logs
08:02:54: A secondary session request was received from the same IP. This caused logout of the current session(AD Query)
connections: access still allowed, seeing source user name in logs
08:14:28: Machine authentication(AD Query)
connections: access denied, no source user name listed, only machine as source
08:21:58: "A secondary session request was received..."(AD Query)
connections: access allowed again, source user name in logs

To me it seems the user does not get logged out in between. The secondary Session notification says it does cause a logout, but shouldn't I see another user login on the same time then, the one that caused this?