cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Shahar_Grober
Advisor

Protect Terminal Servers

Dear Community,

Does Check Point have some kind of best practices or solution to protect Terminal Servers and remote desktop users against threats? 

Our users rely heavily on Terminal Servers and do most of their work from there.

What is the best way to protect them when they downloading and opening files, moving files from/to the file servers, etc.?   On the endpoint we have SBA, but when they connect to the Terminal Server, SBA is no use. 

1. Did anyone try to install Sandblast agent on Terminal servers and succeeded (I saw some previous posts pointing for POC, but, are there real live deployment out there)?

2. Is there another solution to protect users on terminal servers (Doesn't have to be Check Point but a complementary solution)? 

10 Replies
Vladimir
Champion
Champion

To the best of my knowledge, and I am not an expert on Terminal Services, the only difference in protecting your users is in implementation of the Terminal Servers Identity Agent which will allow you to create a Role Based access rules. Otherwise, traffic generated by the terminal server will be inspected in the regular fashion.

Terminal Servers Identity Agent
Dedicated client agent installed on Microsoft® Windows-based application server that hosts Terminal Servers, Citrix XenApp, and Citrix XenDesktop services. This client agent acquires and reports identities to the Check Point Identity Awareness Security Gateway. In the past, this client agent was called Multi-User Host (MUH) Agent.
You can download the Terminal Servers Endpoint Identity Agent from the Identity Awareness Gateway:
https://<Gateway_IP_Address>/_IA_MU_Agent/download/muhAgent.exe

Shahar_Grober
Advisor

Thanks for the answer Vladimir,