cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
origins26
Explorer
Jump to solution

Configuring geo policies

This is my first time working with geo policies, now I'm trying to implement a geo policy that blocks traffic from Russia, I have a 5000 appliance  R80.10. 

Do I just have to configured it like this?

geo policy.pnggeopolicy.png

Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

Yes, but normally if you are blocking a country you want to block "from and to" to drop both connections initiated from that country, and any "phone home" attempts to that country initiated by malware already inside your network.  Also ensure that "Default Geo Policy" is applied to your firewall on the Gateways screen.

As Phoneboy says though use of Geo Updatable Objects in the mainline Access Control policy in R80.20+ is much more flexible and easy to work with.

Gateway Performance Optimization R81.20 Course
now available at maxpowerfirewalls.com

View solution in original post

6 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin
Should be able to.
However it might be better to upgrade to R80.20 or later and use the Updatable Objects for Russia in the access policy, which is far more flexible.
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

Yes, but normally if you are blocking a country you want to block "from and to" to drop both connections initiated from that country, and any "phone home" attempts to that country initiated by malware already inside your network.  Also ensure that "Default Geo Policy" is applied to your firewall on the Gateways screen.

As Phoneboy says though use of Geo Updatable Objects in the mainline Access Control policy in R80.20+ is much more flexible and easy to work with.

origins26
Explorer

Thank you all of you.

As of now I'm not able to upgrade to 80.20, so I'll be working with 80.10, as you said I'm going to configure it to block "from and to Country". I verified and Default Geo policiy is in the gateways screen.