cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dave
Contributor

Identity awareness access group problem

Hi,

We have Identity Awareness implemented for a lot of stuff, but it seems now that it got broken for one specific access rule.

RDP access to certain servers is controlled via IA and the access role is configured with a specific AD group, for which users in this group have access.

All of the sudden, it stopped working and users cannot RDP to these servers anymore.

Weird thing is that it was perfectly working before.

When basic troubleshooting this and removing the group access but adding the users separately, this works again and RDP is working fine again.

I'm fairly new to Checkpoint firewalls so any guidance how to pinpoint what the exact problem is would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Maarten_Sjouw
Champion
Champion

You could try to remove publish and again add the group into the access role and publish and install.
Regards, Maarten
0 Kudos
Nick_Doropoulos
Advisor

Hi Dave,

To assist you fully, could you provide the following information please:

1) What is the version of your management server and that of your gateway?

2) What is the time stamp of when the issue first occurred?

3) What is the identity acquisition method used?

4) How many domain controllers does the gateway communicate with?

Thanks Dave.

0 Kudos
Dave
Contributor

Hi Nick,

1) mgmt and gateway are both running on R80.20

2)first occurence 4th of July

3)policy rule with access role used, where a nested AD group needs to be consulted, but only 2 deep and actual users are member of 3 different groups
Access role group name -> specific group added to grant access -> AD group

We got 4 DC but i'm not sure if all are used to communicate with the gateways.

Strange thing is that we have a bunch of other similar access roles set up also which do still work, only with this particular one we have a problem.