cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anisbank
Explorer

IPS Signatures best practices

Dear CheckMates,
I am a senior security analyst and have given the Task of reviewing the IPS Signatures in our organization. We are using a Checkpoint IPS/Firewall versions R77.30 and R80.10. Out of the total 10,000 plus signatures currently only 1000 plus signatures are in detect or prevent mode and the rest are inactive. Is there any best practices which I can refer to to decide which signatures to set to monitor or which ones to prevent. Any Standard operating procedures.

I proposed that for better visibility so enable all the signature to monitoring mode as this traffic is also captured in SIEM tool. Now I have been asked to filter the IPS signatures based on port so that we can enable only those ports open by Firewall to Monitoring mode and the rest can be Inactive. Is there any way by which I can filter the IPS signatures based on Port numbers. Any help or explanation is much appreciated. 

Thanks and regards

Mohammed Anis Ismail

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

For your first question, you will need to get most of those IPS protections into at least Detect to figure out which ones you actually need.  Check out the TailoredSafe tool here which can be very helpful:

https://community.checkpoint.com/t5/IPS-Anti-Virus-Anti-Bot-Anti/Moving-from-Detect-to-Prevent-TechT...

https://community.checkpoint.com/t5/IPS-Anti-Virus-Anti-Bot-Anti/SmartEvent-View-From-IPS-Detect-pro...

For your second query, IPS protections don't directly care about port numbers and are usually looking for exploits in certain protocols, which typically have "native" port numbers they use.  The closest you can get to what you want is to expose the Protocol column for the IPS signatures as shown here:

ips_proto.png