Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mrl_sousa
Participant
Jump to solution

SMS Server R80.10 Extremely Slow and Cannot login

Hi ,

I'm running R80.10 on my Gateways and SMS Server ( Physical Appliance).  My SMS server was running very slow for same time  and now i cannot even login in Smart Console. Can someone please help troubleshoot/resolve the issue ?

Find in attach the login error, top,sar, iostat and cpview.

SMS SPECS          :  -2 x CPU ; -8 GB RAM ; 

GATEWAY SPECS :  -2 x CPU ( 16 x cores each) ; -32 GB RAM ;

Note: I'm new to checkpoint.

Regards,

Mauro de sousa

3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Timothy_Hall
Champion
Champion

@Daniel_Taney's post might hold the solution.

However in looking at your screenshots, the SMS "Waiting for I/O" (wio) percentages are absurdly high which may be causing a timeout when you are attempting to log in.  A few notes:

1) Curiously you don't seem to be swapping much with your 8GB of RAM which is the typical cause of high wio.  This could indicate a high level of disk overhead due to a very high level of logs coming into your SMS.  Please post your logging rate from sk120341: How to monitor the Log Receive Rate on Management Server / Log Server R80 and above

2) Also the presence of lea_session processes indicates that you are exporting logs to some kind of SIEM which will further increase hard disk utilization, try disabling this functionality and see if it helps.

3) Finally your hard drive may be experiencing errors or about to fail which is causing long waits for hard drive access as the drive retrys various operations.  Check /var/log/messages* on the SMS carefully, do you see any disk warnings or timeout messages?  If so BACKUP THE SMS IMMEDIATELY and make plans to replace it and/or the hard drive.