Create a Post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vaidehi
Participant

I Like to run a python script to install the 1000 policies on firewall.

Hello,

I want to install 1000 polices on Checkpoint firewall. However, I am not familiar with the Infra environment. Anyone can please guide me to any document or explain it to me that how can I set a python environment to run a python script?

I am using GAIA R80.30

Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

In Check Point, we refer to a policy as a collection of rules (Access Control, Threat Prevention).
The API is REST-based and you can use any programming language to interact with the API, including Python.
Several Python programs are referred to in the API/CLI Discussion space: https://community.checkpoint.com/t5/API-CLI-Discussion-and-Samples/bd-p/codehub
0 Kudos
vaidehi
Participant

Thank you for your response.
I am still confused. I am new to checkpoint firewall therefore really sorry , i might ask you really basic questions.

For instance, in which mode i can write a python script?
[Chkptfw]# python
bash: python: command not found
I see this error in expert mode
0 Kudos
PhoneBoy
Admin
Admin

On R80.30 Management (with the 3.10 kernel), python is in the path (specifically in /bin).
On R80.x Gateways or Standalone, the python interpreter is $FWDIR/Python/bin/python.

Note that the python interpreter installed only includes the specific libraries we use in the product.
We do not support installing additional libraries or otherwise updating the interpreter beyond what is installed.
Highly recommend using a different system if Python is your choice of language.

If you want to run things directly on the management, you're better off calling mgmt_cli via shell scripts.
0 Kudos
vaidehi
Participant

What do you mean by "different system"? Can I install polices (Access rules) using any other device? OR